University of Notre Dame
Rare Books and Special Collections
Return Home
Topical Collections
Personal and Family Papers
Military Records
Letters and Correspondences
Anderson-Reavis Correspondence
Cicero R. Barker
Mary Bettle
Caley Family Correspondence
William Combs
Mary Crowell
Henry S. Figures
M. A. Harvey
Ora W. Harvey
John M. Jackson
James B. Jordan
Henry H. Maley
Christopher C. McKinney
Meek Family Correspondence
morgan Family Correspondence
James Parkison
Peed Family Letters
G. Julian Pratt
John Pugh
Harrison E. Randall
Read Family Correspondence
Samuel T. Reeves
Harrison E. savage
Shriver Family Correspondence
Shriver Family Correspondence
Sillers-Holmes Family Correspondence
Taylor Family Correspondence
Thomas Family Correspondence
Herbert Benezet Tyson
Isaac Ira White
Diaries and Journals
Miscellaneous Manuscripts

  (transcriptions only)

Technical Details
Manuscripts of the American Civil War
Taylor Family Correspondence

|  index  | next letter >

Document Type: Autograph Letter Signed

Author: J. Gibson Taylor
Date: June 19, 1864
Place: Louisville, Kentucky
To: Mollie Davis

Physical Description: Pencil on paper; 1 page (16 x 20 cm.) on 1 sheet

Number: MSN/CW 5033-01

(Please click on our Technical Details button at left
for more information on transcription conventions,
image scanning conventions, etc.)

Page 1      Images: 150 DPI100 DPI72 DPI

Miltary Prison Louisville Ky
June 19th 1864

Dear Cousin Mollie Davis

     I have but a few lines to communicate at present and a case of necissity prompts me to ask a favour of you. I wish you to purchase a Coat pair of pants two woolen Shirts two pair of drawers, cotton, one Haversack made of patent Leather that doubles like Saddlebags and a Towel & cake of soap. If your husband will attend to this he will confer a great favour on me. You will please write my father concerning my health. My health is very good with the exception of a Slight cold and my hearing is not injured as he supposed. If Mr Davis will attend to this and make a bill of the expenses I will sign it and my father will settle with him for the articles. Give my love to Aunt Sarah & Uncle Gip & all my relations.

Your Aff Cousin
Gibson Taylor of Yelvington Daviess co Ky

Two pair of woolen Socks & one Lead pencil

Have the articles Sent in the morning & Two dollars in Small change

Transcription last modified: 06 Mar 2007 at 10:32 AM EST

|  index  | next letter >

  Related Collections:   Colonial & Revolutionary America Early National & Antebellum America American Civil War Modern America Sports

Rare Books and Special Collections

University of Notre Dame
Copyright © 2006, 2009, 2011

Dept. of Special Collections
University of Notre Dame
102 Hesburgh Library
Notre Dame, IN 46556
Telephone: 574-631-0290
Fax: 574-631-6308
E-Mail: rarebook @